** March Poker League Result : =1st Bridscott, =1st Like2Fish, 3rd avongirl **
** Cheltenham Tipster Competition Result : 1st Old codger, 2nd sirspread, 3rd Bathtime For Rupert **

progressive betting on tennis? and being banned for it?

Hello,
I am new to betting and to this world in general. So please bear with me if this question is too simple.
But I'd like to know what is your experience with bookmakers closing or limiting your account? And under what conditions this this happen?

I'd like to try a system based on progressive betting (i.e. bet 2, if you lose, bet 4 etc. until you get your invested sum + some minor profit back). I wonder whether strategies based on this simple principle are banned by bookmakers? I know they hate arbing ..where there's no risk to the punter, but here obviously the risk is clear as the line of successive necessary betts ..i.e. progression can be so huge that it it will either bankrupt you or you won't be able to place the next bet (image a team losing 20 time in a row though you're betting on its success). In my case I'd like to bet on tennis..and against tennis players until they lose. Will I be banned for such a strategy?And generally speaking what is your experience with the bookmakers.
Thank you!

Hi there @curiousmind

I don't think that you're going to have any problems with that system in terms of limits/bans unless the stakes get really really high. What's more, there are so many bookies out there that you can always switch to a new one if something goes wrong. The system sounds interesting - I presume that you want to oppose some of the better players in this way?

Actually, the better players are dangerous to oppose. Federer has in the past strung together 40, 41 wins in a row, so did Djokovic and Nadal. So if you oppose them, you can win big, but it can also bankkrupt you.