Each Way Single Bets - A New Generation Of Betting?

Please note what I have written are my own thoughts and opinions, this has no bearing on how PL community place their bets.

I have been betting horses since early 1970s and my intentions when putting any single bets on was for my horse to win as I would be disappointed like any other punter if it loses or placed.

Over the years I know notice that a number of pundits are advising on placing an each way single on a horse trading between 5/1 -11/2 (sometimes shorter), if the 5/1 shot is placed then odds become a lot shorter as we know and you now have 11/10  - ¼ odds say (excuse my sums). Now do we double our stakes? Or do we half our stake? In my opinion my returns would be very short and that's were I would be placing a single bet and hope for a winner.

Our resident tipster "The Brigadier" suggests in some races, each way single bets at 5/1 - 11/2 - now is that aimed at "big hitters" or punters like myself - "Fivers and  Tenners"? The ITV racing team such like, Matt Chapman and Adele Mulrennan put up 5/1 - 11/2 shots each way - now is this to help their tipping record for over the season? I would ask The Brigadier the same question?

My bets mostly on a Saturday or televised races midweek such as Royal Ascot , Cheltenham festival etc, are all single bets and I will choose two double figure odds for each way double and probably put a Lucky 15 on.

I have never been involved in any type of forum before but I would be grateful for all your thoughts   and if  you think I am still in the "dark ages" then please give me your insight as what works for you?

47 minutes ago, White Feather said:
Please note what I have written are my own thoughts and opinions, this has no bearing on how PL community place their bets.

I have been betting horses since early 1970s and my intentions when putting any single bets on was for my horse to win as I would be disappointed like any other punter if it loses or placed.