** April Poker League Result : 1st Like2Fish, 2nd McG, 3rd andybell666 **

Maiden help

Question for the advanced gamblers on here : how do you assess horses based on breeding? There are many of you on here who do your own tissue prices and frame your own for each race. How do you decide on the odds if they have never run before? Let's take a maiden race where the entire field are unraced. How do you determine which ones are fancied and which ones aren't. How can breeding determine the way a horse is priced up. I've been punting for many years and to be honest I know very little about the breeding aspect of the sport. Infact yesterday I looked at a horse called Abu Nayef ,owned by Jabber Abdulla ( Nayef / Queens Logic ). Given the dam and sire were Gr1 winners I would have automatically assumed the offspring would be a black type horse, however after 3 runs it was still a maiden rated in the 70s and eventually finished unplaced. Sometimes I see horses by Pivotal and Kyllachy both Gr1 sprinters producing middle distance horses, how does that work? I know there are some clued up punters on here who are already on horses like Mars and the unraced Hydrogen, how did you come to back these horses ante post even before they had run , was it the breeding? Where do I begin?