1/4 the odds & 1/5 the odds

Re: 1/4 the odds & 1/5 the odds

Can anyone tell me why in some races there is 1/4 the odds for 3 placings and 1/5 the odds for 3 placings? I thought it was always 1/4 the odds for a place?
1/4 the odds in handicaps with 12 runners or more and in races with 5-7 runners.. All other races are 1/5 the odds

Can anyone tell me why in some races there is 1/4 the odds for 3 placings and 1/5 the odds for 3 placings?
Very interesting question , its one I have been asking for many years. I must have asked dozens of betting shop managers and hard core racing experts without getting a satisfactory answer. Maybe some of the regular forum experts can answer this .

No. of Runners/Type of RacePlace Terms
2-4 runnersNo place betting allowed
5-7 runners1st and 2nd one quarter the odds
8+ runners1st, 2nd and 3rd one fifth odds
Handicaps 12-15 runners1st, 2nd and 3rd one quarter odds
Handicaps 16+ runners1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th one quarter odds

Very interesting question , its one I have been asking for many years. I must have asked dozens of betting shop managers and hard core racing experts without getting a satisfactory answer. Maybe some of the regular forum experts can answer this .
8 runner listed race 1/5 odds first 3 12 runner handicap 1/4 odds first 3 EW terms depend on runners and type of race. Occasionally a bookie will offer 1/4 odds instead of a 1/5th to get business, not all bookies will offer these terms. Cheltenham will be a good example.