Elo Calculation Spreadsheet?

Hi, I'm looking to compile Elo ratings for the NHL and incorporate them into my existing Poisson model. I'm no expert at vba and doing it manually would be impractical, so was hoping someone had and would be willing to part with a spreadsheet that can receive an input of results and then update the rating?

Cheers

MG

7 hours ago, tryer said:

Hi, I'm looking to compile Elo ratings for the NHL and incorporate them into my existing Poisson model. I'm no expert at vba and doing it manually would be impractical, so was hoping someone had and would be willing to part with a spreadsheet that can receive an input of results and then update the rating?

Cheers

MG

@tryer  I hear what you're saying with it being impractical. Our ELO Ratings are now automatic, but I don't know of any spreadsheet to help you.

I'll move this to systems and strategy where it might get more help. :ok 

@tryerHi there depending on what format your current model is in and how you display and update it I may be able to help or point you in the right direction.

I am by no means a vba programmer but my program uses excel and displays and updates the data from a user form driven by vba

is this the type of thing you are looking for?

Kentucky110

@Kentucky110 Hi, thanks for getting back to me. My existing Poisson model is in Excel and just pulls data from a few web pages and then it is formula based to do the calculations. I was hoping to have another spreadsheet, or just add a few extra sheets to my existing one,  where I can enter or pull results from a page which will then update the Elo ratings. I want to then add Pythagorean expectations (which I'm OK with) and then look to get involved where all 3 approaches point in the same direction. My Poisson model was OK last season, just under break even, so I just want to see if I can make it a little more accurate.