** March Poker League Result : =1st Bridscott, =1st Like2Fish, 3rd avongirl **

'Strategies'

Hello, So I'm relatively new to sports gambling & I know there is no system, I'm not that stupid :wall I guess I am asking, what's the best way to cover all angles to turn a profit? I am realising horse racing is very, very difficult to call - no matter what prep you do (timeform, iCard, pedigree, conditions... whatever) it doesn't seem to always relate, always a dark horse so doubles and accumulators even on each way can be porked pretty quickly. I am looking at football and I did OK over the weekend, i invested 20 and took out 90 - that to me is good, the 20 was spread betting on the Sunday matches - Everton ruined my joy a bit and City didn't get 3, otherwise it'd been better. I guess the question is, how can I maximise the chances of winning, I've seen the yankee and know that it's not quite so dangerous but the returns would be poor? Is it all just luck or can I potentially minimise the chance a rogue odd occurance? I am only betting small amounts, mainly as I enjoy the thrill but like anyone, I don't like losing! All advice gratefully received. Bear

Re: 'Strategies' Welcome ginger bear, There's a few questions in there and I'm not sure that they can all be answered in one go. I've always believed that unless you're betting at particularly low or high odds then your staking method is largely irrelevant i.e. whether you are using spread bets or accumulators or singles, they are just different versions of the same bets -so a bad bet in a Yankee is still a bad bet in singles. The key is always to find value bets, where your estimate of the odds is better than the odds on offer. Simple really, if you crack that bit, let me know!