** April Poker League Result : 1st Like2Fish, 2nd McG, 3rd andybell666 **

Tattersalls calculations

Guest Whopper73

Guest Whopper73

Ok, so I'm new to horse racing and I am testing out a system I am filtering from Adrians Masseys tables and I have started to place small bets after convincing myself the system will work :unsure Anyway, I placed a bet that came in today but I didnlt get the expected return due to horses piulling out before the start of the race and I lost 25p in the pound (or at least I think in the pound!) but I cannot work out how the math is done to calculate the adjustment. Can anyone here help? If it any help the stake was for 48p to win (a percentage of a very small bank for proofing purposes - so stop laughing!) with odds of 5.50. The expected return was 2.64, but the actual return was 2.10. Can anyone explain how!!

Tattersalls calculations 25 p in a pound means 25% reduction, keep with me - it's wins that count, not returns - so actually you were hoping to win 2.16 (2.64 - 0.48) MINUS 25% - equals 1.62. Therefore, 1.62 was your net win after applying Rule 4. And 1.62 PLUS 0.48 (stake again) gives you the actual return of 2.10. Hope it's understandable enough now.:)