Naps June 2022

I don't know if anyone has noticed but looking at the nap of the day table there is 22 out of 84 players in profit as of 29th June that could be the lowest figure ever? 

Personally I have been backing horses seriously for 6 years and this is easily my worse month, 67 bets, 8 winners and 20 second places!

Is it a freak month? are ground conditions to blame? I am staying optimistic  if the law of averages are right it could be a very good summer to back the horses.  

Anyway well done to the guys at the top of the table and good luck on the last day.

These are strange times @Johnrobertson.

Ever since covid, and the big bookmakers taking control of the markets rather than returning s.p.'s from the on course layers, has brought about a complete sea change in the way the markets work IMO.

If you fancied a selection, you could check the markets to see if it was contracting or drifting, nowadays it is a pointless exercise, with far more drifters winning and ultra late (last minute or 2) shortening of prices. The exceptions are the ones who are going for a monster gamble and the bookmakers IMO then shorten the 'live one'... but also shorten a couple of others that are fancied in the papers so as to muddy the waters. This has led to trainers (and owners) having to operate differently themselves in order to get a decent bet at a decent price to pay the bills. 

You are not alone in having a poor month, I have had to do some brain fogging examination of my bets and look for the mindset and workings of the major bookmakers. I know some in the business (odds compilers) and they are a lot more cagey these days. It's never been easy but has been difficult for a while (although not impossible). Anyway, that's my two pennies worth, good luck with your punting.

1 hour ago, Johnrobertson said:

I don't know if anyone has noticed but looking at the nap of the day table there is 22 out of 84 players in profit as of 29th June that could be the lowest figure ever?