Learning to play HORSE

PGremlin

Hi, I think an important thing about poker is that you need to feel motivated to play the game. Sometimes I get bored with Holdem so maybe being able to play other variants of poker would be a good way to keep the game fun for me. I have been playing Holdem for about 2 years now (had a few breaks in between so it's even less then 2 years) , and I feel like I want to learn how to play the other variants of poker too. :$ I decided that I want to be able to play HORSE on a decent level. So first up is Fixed Limit Omaha H/L. I am thinking of playing some low level STT. Is that a good strategy to get some starting experience for a low price? Thought? Opinions?

Re: Learning to play HORSE yeah i suppose its not a bad place to start really:ok i would recomend playing on stars because at low levels the tables fill up nice and quick (loads of $1 stts and sngs),also the games are not too crazy but easily beatable. i would give each game a go and maybe try some sngs as well. then have a go at the $3 horse tourneys:ok they run every 6 hrs( 4.45/10.45)again this game is easily beatable and also pays down to top 20% so is a good place to test the waters;)

Re: Learning to play HORSE I'm not convinced STTs are the best way to learn :unsure If you are an established NLHE with a history of playing STTs then some tournament strategy (stack management) can get you through the STT without necesarily doing the right things for the variant. If you are happy to take the risk (it will probably cost you money initially) I think micro stake cash tables will give you a better rounding in the variant :unsure