Aa ?

Bruise Pristene

hi im not good at poker, was playing a no limit $800 touranment. in first hand I was dealt AA, the player before me put all $800, so i matched him thinking max he can have is AA also, and has not seen any more cards. rest of cards came out, turns out he had 10 and J of hearts. and there were three hearts in middle so he wins, and im out of tourney on my arse!!! is this me being unlucky or stupid? surely if I had AA and someone goes all in before flop (or whatever its called) i have to match dont i?

Re: Aa ? Course mate theres no better state preflop you can be in than all in with the pocket rockets. Youd be daft not to push it all in Just to confirm you were a 78% favourite with the AA. 78 times from 100 tournaments you would have had a lovely double through to start you on your way in the tourny :ok By the way anyone know what the best hand is to go against aces with all in statistically? Obviously nothings gonna be in great shape! But is J10s about the best thing? NB - Just been playing around on a poker odds calculator and it seems (I think) 56s is the best hand against AA with a 23.1% chance of winning. I'll remember that :ok

Re: Aa ? I think justice was done, entered another tournament straight away and came 2nd out of 10. won $6 for a $2 entry. first ever profit!!:nana I used to be really bad at poker but I learnt a trick which you guys might think is obvious. now i only play about 1 in 10 hands, let all the mugs bet each others chips away. so far it seems to be working, just need to get some "when to raise/check/fold" etc experience and knowledge, for those hands i do play