Defining/Refining your game

georgej

I am a total newbie to poker - still get mixed up about what beats what, but can anyone tell me how i can guage my play? I have been unable to play betfair/Willhill poker because i am constantly losing the connection, even though i can still surf online - so i am using pacific poker. Been in a few tounaments and mostly finish in the top 30% Can anyone suggest a way of telling how good or bad my play is (without going by how much money i am losing) so that i can try to improve on some areas. One thing i am definately not good at is closing. Had a 10 seat tournament and got 2nd place, but it was pretty obvious that i had problems betting thousands preflop with 2,5o - it's just not in my nature. Any advice appreciated (even smart ass comments) George

Re: Defining/Refining your game Hi George I wrote in the poker novice questions thread how I play heads up..... post no#27 http://www.punterslounge.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15669&page=2&pp=20 This thread has some advice as well for when you are starting off http://www.punterslounge.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15159&page=1 Have a look at them for starters and then let us know any specific questions you have :ok