** April Poker League Result : 1st Like2Fish, 2nd McG, 3rd andybell666 **

Is it really worth it ?

Grex

I am feeling in a negative mood today, so please excuse this thread. I have been running various systems on this forum, some for as long as four years. The performance is: HOMES: 444 bets, 7.5% yield ELO Homes: 150bets, 8.4% yield OVERS: 271 bets, 11.7% yield This equates to a total of 865 bets producing a yield of 9%. If you had put 1 unit on each selection, you would have made a magnificent profit of 76 units over the 4 years. For the rich people who could afford a stake of (say) 10 units, the profit would be 760 units, i.e. 18.5 units per year. I ask myself, is it really worth it for such a small return? OK, it's better that sticking the money in a savings account (not sure what the UK interest rate is at the moment.... 3%?), but savings accounts are certainly less trouble to manage and administer, and there is no risk attached. It all depends on your motives for getting involved in the betting game. Reasons to get involved: You get a buzz from “beating the bookie” You get added excitement from watching a particular football match Reasons not to get involved: You are an addict :p You are in it to make money….. then forget it. If anybody can come up with any good ideas to keep plugging away, please comment :ok

Re: Is it really worth it ? I'm motivated by the challenge (beating the bookies I guess!) but also to make money in the long run. The numbers as you present them don't sound very impressive but if you had started with a spare £1000 (a nice thing to have if you had it!) and backed each of those 865 selections at 5% (£50) of your starting bank you would have made a profit of £3892, nearly quadrupling your investment. A dam site better than any bank account. I agree though, if you want to make meaningful money you need to have the capital available to stake at reasonably high levels.....something I'm still working on. :D