pg_yid's 'Half an Arb' system

pg_yid

This is my first attempt at a system thread. I have a few systems that have been successful for me but which I wouldn't want to share on a public forum. This is a new idea of mine, though I'm sure someone has tried it before. The idea is this...with an arb, there is an under round book. The implied probabilities of the odds, when added up, come to less than 100%. This means that one or more of the selections which make up an arb are definitely value. By value I mean that the percentage chance of the selection winning is higher than that suggested by the odds. This is mathematically correct, and cannot be refuted. So, arbing/arbritage provides guaranteed profit. However, there are many drawbacks to arbing. The most important drawback, in my view, is that you will most likely find your accounts are restricted very quickly. Also, on a personal level, I don't like the idea of arbing as knowing that you will win takes away a large part of the challenge and excitement of regular sports betting and trying to find value. What I was wondering is whether it would be possible to consistently find value bets by finding arbs and then trying to work out which bookmaker is 'wrong'. If you can identify which bookie is offering the value bet then, rather than placing the entire arb, you could simply put a normal bet on at good value odds. Long term this should provide a profit, and hopefully will keep you under the radar of the bookie's anti-arbing software, at least for longer than if you were actually arbing. One potential problem is, of course, you don't know for sure which bookie will have the wrong price. There are a number of ways I will try and work this out. I will list some of them here: 1. Bookies with lower margins (e.g. Pinnacle and 188bet) respond much quicker to the money being placed on bets than other bookies; their lines will fluctuate continuously in the days before an event takes place. These bookies can be said to be a bette