Bankroll management & stt's

MartyMcG_1967

What bankroll management do you PL'ers use when playing. It was something I never thought of much before, as a student i just tended to deposit and withdraw a lot. Was only when on a thread on here a while ago I mentioned I had a profit on sharkscope and Nade on here mentioned I'd be able to play at a higher level had I not withdrawn all of my winnings. So that is exactly what I have done, I started with £3.60 just depositing as I fancied a £3.60 on William Hill one night when bored and not thinking at all about bankroll management. It was only when i went on a pretty good run, think I won my first 2 and cashed in the other and ended up about £30ish that I started to think about it. After googling stuff about bankroll management on the web I gathered that 20 minimum buy ins for an stt were the least amount needed for the level you want to play comfortably at without any variance. So my target was to get to £72 to get up to 20 big blinds without depositing and I have done that and now sit at just over £100. I now have around 27/28 buy ins for the £3.60 tournaments and naturally am itching to try my luck at the £5.50 levels, which I would need to get to £110 for to get at least 20 and around £120-130 to give me a few games without having to drop down right away should I lose. After reading the link GotAFancy pasted on the Poker Challenges forum from Fox got me interested as they seemed ultra conservative- saying 45 buy ins were needed etc. Just wondering what you guys use and if you think 20 is too little or about right and when I should move up a level. It has bode me well considering for so long I was playing with around 10bb's and never really felt nervous about going broke.