Cash Game Play vs Tournament Play

Aykay1

I started playing poker just before christmas in small stakes STT's, depositing $50 each in Ladbrokes, Stan James, Betfair and Bet Direct poker sites. After a steep learning curve to start with, i've done ok and the balances are currently Ladbrokes: $86 Stan James: $12 Betfair: $66 Bet Direct: $81 I'm pretty happy with my tournament play at the levels im playing at, so I'm thinking of starting to play cash games to get another angle on the poker world, so to speak. is there anything I should be aware of tactically/strategy wise that would differ between cash games and tournament play? i.e. level of aggression, staking, hand rankings? Thanks for your help :ok

Re: Cash Game Play vs Tournament Play cash games you will need some tools. poker tracker - available free in *places* gametime+ actually free addon for PT. aggression, i like TAG, but others do well as LAG, for low stakes TAG and playing the %s is extremely profitable. staking, for single (full) tabling, no more than 10% of your roll at any one table is what chris ferguson reccomends. personally i like multi tabling short handed. so i use a 5% rule and 4-6 tables at once. tactically you have to rememebr its about the LONG HAUL. not about your balance at any one point in time. i go by the following mindset, if any ANY point i know i ahve the best hand, regardless of what might outdraw me, i'm willing to put every chip i ahve in the pot. because even if i'm 55% to 45% over the tens of thousands of hands that i'll play, its profitable. others might disagree :) try and keep your head. dont play dominated hands, and dont go bust on top pair, it doesnt win enough :D