What a game

sensibleboy

Hi I have been playing poker online for a few years now and love the game (bar the bad beats etc). However, now Im starting to take it a bit more serious. Tonight I entered two small multi table tourneys for 3 quid. I came 2nd in the first and 3rd in the next and made a tidy profit of around £80. Not bad as there were only 50 players in the tourneys to start with. Im still not sure on some aspects of the game however. I watch poker on the tv alot and read alot of stuff about it. When reading about it alot of players are quoted to be a 3 to 1 dog or such, what does this mean? Also, how do you calculate your odds of winning the pot? ... especially when you cannot see your opponents hand, so basically you put him on a hand and have to calculate your chances? ... is that right? Also, what sort of tourneys does everyone prefer? I basically prefer multi table tourneys with around 20 to 50 people and also sit and go 6 seater tourneys. Thanks for reading and hope some of you can answer my questions and help me. Appreciated.