Tournament vs Cash

guesswest

GaF's excellent post on inflection points got me thinking about this, though not in a very organised way so apologies if this is a bit of a ramble...... I started playing online poker about 2.5 years ago, and for the first year and a bit played only tournaments, and did really well. I picked up 20+ four figure finishes - and in one beautiful week I won the $10 buy-in 20k guaranteed on prima ($5600 1st) twice in the same week, monday and wednesday. At that point I decided to work on my cash game, and I was at the time a godawful bad cash player. But I worked on it and got better and eventually ended up showing regular profit. But I noticed that as my cash game improved, my tournament results suffered. Now my tournament results are just plain shite. I'd initially put it down to variance and a bad run, but with the downturn in tournament performance having gone on over a year now, it's a sample that's staticially significant so I can only assume I'm just not playing as well as I used to. So I've been trying to work out what it is that I'm doing wrong, and GaFs thread on inflection points gave me an idea. A tournament is essentially a mini-bankroll. In a cash game you'd always want to take positive expectation because you're playing for the long term, so if there's five people in front of you all-in you'd call aces every day of the week even though you're an underdog. When I started playing cash it took me a while to wrap my head around that, but I think when I finally did, I then developed a problem stopping myself from applying the same thing to tournament play. For instance in a cash game if I have AKd and the flop comes rags with 2 diamonds and I put the guy on an overpair, I'll call everytime because with 2 overcards and the flush draw I'm a small favourite. The problem is, I think, I'm making the same calls in tournaments. In the same way you wouldn't sit down in a cash game way above your usual stakes with your full bankroll, you ne