Can there really be a system?

Hi guys, NOOB to sports betting here, I hope I have posted this in the wrong section. I've been a professional poker player for around 6 years now and obviously being part of the gambling world I have come across many people who dabble in sports betting, some more seriously than others. I'd like to think my football knowledge is superior to most of the people I have come across and my curiosity has recently led me to opening an account on BET365 and registered on these forums. My question is: Is it REALLY possible to manipulate the system and yield a consistent+ reliable profit from football bets, even with a combination of common sense/nouse/knowledge. This is probably stuff you guys all know already but I looked at the numbers for this weekends fixture between Chelsea vs Burnley. Chelsea 1.18 Draw 6.50 Burnley 15:00 Converted into %'s these give a 84.745% Chelsea will win, 15.38% for the Draw and 6.66% for Burnley to win. Obviously the bookmakers have to get their edge from somewhere, but all these numbers combined = 106.785% meaning the bookmakers are fixing the market to a much higher % than I ever could have imagined........is it even possible for punters to gain an edge anywhere?? I apologise as I assume this is stuff you all know, but with the bookmakers manipulating the prices to given themselves an additional 6.785%.....how is there anyone making consistent winnings in the long run??

Re: Can there really be a system?

I'd like to think my football knowledge is superior to most
Let's simply assume this statement to be accurate :-)
how is there anyone making consistent winnings in the long run??