The Nearly Man of Poker...........

Rhino_Power

Ive been playing poker on/off for a few years but whereas previously i played for "something to do" whilst trawling the internet i have more recently after a substancial break from the game started to take the game more seriously. I have listened and taken stock that this game is a little more about skill than i once thought. Those who have played recent PL leagues will have noted i have had an excellent run since starting participating with PL. [TABLE]

[TR] [TD=width: 67%] PL Career [/TD] [TD=width: 33%] League Place [/TD] [/TR] [TR] [TD=width: 67%] [/TD] [TD=width: 33%] [/TD] [/TR] [TR] [TD=width: 67%]Grosvenor June 2012 [/TD] [TD=width: 33%] 1 / 56 [/TD] [/TR] [TR] [TD=width: 67%] Stan James September 2012 [/TD] [TD=width: 33%] 5 / 39 [/TD] [/TR] [TR] [TD=width: 67%] Grosvenor September 2012 [/TD] [TD=width: 33%] 22 / 63 [/TD] [/TR] [/TABLE] Stan James October 2012 currently leading. I have been pleased with my finishing positions and its given me some confidence in my game. However, these games are relatively low stake, low winnings and when i look at the Personal Best winnings on here it shames me. Granted i dont play that often, and havent invested too much over the years but there has now and again and even more recently been several shots at winning something big. Last night i was 2 places away from winning a £1,070 gukpt seat, a few weeks ago 2 places away from winning a Vegas package, and not so long back close to a ukppl Leeds seat. In the past i have lost out at low-stake huge MTTs close to the money with a monster hand. I havent finished well in the 2 finals i reached from the above despite starting the SJ one in 2nd place due to player points. It seems that whenever there is something big at stake i miss out, but put me in a freeroll and i will romp the field. Has anyone else been in this situation before and can offer me any advice as to how i can improve on my PB and take my play to the next level