Advice Needed: IT Hardware for Poker

andybell666

Guys, Some advice needed - i currently use a bog standard laptop at the moment and it has been fine but i do find that when i am playing a lot of mtts it starts to lag and have on numerous occasions made errors due to tables overlapping etc... I guess on an average night i am running 8-10 tables and on some evenings up to 12-14. I have played about with various pieces of software like table ninja to help but i think i have reached the stage where i need to get a better system - maybe some screens and a faster laptop to run them off. I am not a pro and do not intend to spend all my time playing poker but i do think i am at the stage where i need to invest in a better set up on a limited budget (say £1k perhaps). Was thinking of spending like £700 on new laptop and £300 on 2 screens. Do any of you have any similar set ups and can make recommendations? Anyone have any views on one big 30" screen vs. 2 x 24" screens? All advice welcomed.....

Re: Advice Needed: IT Hardware for Poker What HUD software do you use? How big is your database? Is your database maintenance up to date? A fast Hard Disk may be your best investment. I would guess that you couldnt spend £700 on a new laptop that wont comfortably run what you want.

Re: Advice Needed: IT Hardware for Poker just bought a new laptop, the aspire 7741g, on amazon for £500. it is 64bit and 4gb ram,expandable to 8gb, with 750 gb memory and a 17.3" screen. i am amazed at how bad my last laptop was compared to this,it has 3 usb and 1 hdmi conectors so should be ample for what you need :ok