Beginning Racing/betting

Hi all, I have just joined this site and am a complete novice when it comes to betting and racing in general. I have always had a fascination with racing as both my parents were bookies. I heard too many bad stories about people losing all there wages every week and saw the people banging on the door for the shop to open so they could lose their mone and i guess this put me off. I have however been reading a bit about professional gamblers and read a couple of biographies. The people in these are far from losing and would appear to live very good lifestyles from their gambling. What would you say it is that these people are doing that the guys losing all their money are not? The books I have read talk about spending hours reading form etc. What exactly are they doing? How would someone with no knowledge learn to do this? Are there any good books that would explain the basics and also the whole process of form reading and selection? I have always fancied getting into racing but want to do it correct from the start with as much info as possible rather than just relying on luck. Regards