Complete beginner

seymoore

Hello to everyone on the forum ! Could someone please advise me on the best possible way to learn how to play poker. Is it possible to just follow some on-line tutorials or do you recommend buying a book (if so which one) or is there a better way. Thanks in advance for any help, I think i'm getting the bug but really am fairly clueless !!

Re: Complete beginner Firstly, :welcome. Its difficult to know what to say to a complete beginner - how complete? Do you know a straight from a flush for example? There are some really really useful sticky threads at the top of the page for beginners. You could buy some books but at the stage you seem to be at , online tutorials with a move to freerolls/play money tables might be the best and cheapest step for now. I'm sure if you have any specific questions, you'll find people that can help. Good luck ! :ok

Re: Complete beginner :welcome to the PL forum. Not sure I am qualified to give advice... but I will pass on what I have found and done. Virgin has an on-line tutorial I believe so might be worth trying that out (Wed/Thur/Sunday). Most sites give some information how to play... hand ranking and general advice and Harringtons book on Tournament play and the Sklansky Poker for Advanced Players (cash games) are good and worth a read (several times). I would just get yourself enrolled on some of these websites for free and play in the freerolls... I would recommend the Virgin one as it is not over-subscribed and has some great competitions. There are loads more out there so check the threads and surf the web... Good luck and enjoy!