Is this system worth pursuing? Testing now...

DC

I've been messing about on a Horseracing stats website and back fitted a series of rules going back to Jan 1996. The results read as follows... Total bets to date: 3711 Wins: 1397 Strike Rate: 37.64% Return on investment: 88.36% per £100 bet: Loss of £43506 Not impressed?!!! No, but consider if you were to turn the picture upsidedown and LAY these horses. Bearing in mind, no horse was over 2/1... Total bets to date: 3711 Wins: 2314 Strike rate: 62.36% Return on investment: ??? per £100 bet: ??? would the higher prices on exchanges and commission severely reduce any profits when laying? DC

Re: Is this system worth pursuing?

Return on investment: 88.36% per £100 bet: Loss of £43506 DC
Danny, just a query...do you mean minus 88.36%, or 88.36% loss per £100 staked, or 11.64% loss of original bank? Either way, I'm no expert on horse racing/ exchanges, but I do know that if you are backing or laying at odds of around 3.0 or less, the difference between back and lay will rarely be more than a couple of points.So I would assume, in theory, just multiplying the number of 'correct' bets by, say 0.3 points, and then deducting that figure from your original total loss figure from your 'back' bets, will give you a final total that would represent the profit amount, (as a positive number), if you had laid all the bets. i.e., £43506 minus (2314 x 0.3), and then divided by 3711 to determine profit per bet. Or am I talking the usual cr*p ??! :unsure

Re: Is this system worth pursuing? Im agreed with Spreadman. With horses at these prices the exchange price is never usually much higher. Sometimes theyre even lower for hot hot favourites. The 20% bigger prices (or whatever it is they advertise) is usually found in the outsiders for races. Definatly worth giving a follow up imo.