Potential new financial system

Godders

Hi all, For a while now, I've been interested in financial spread betting, and have been researching it for the last few years. I think I've now come up with a system that I'm happy to trial, and if there are no objections, I'd like to trial on here. I do fully appreciate that this is more a sports betting forum, so if people aren't happy to have a financial system on here, then I'll happily trail it privately. Reason I'd like to make it public at this stage is to A) provide some motivation to actually properly do the research, and B) look for other people's opinions given I'm still learning my way through the markets! What am I proposing? This is primarily a trend-following system. I will identify trends on weekly charts, and look for "value" entry and exit points on daily charts. This means that positions will be held for a number of days, but they will be opened in the direction of long-term trends (i.e. a Buy position if the weekly chart is showing an uptrend, a Sell position if showing a downtrend). Positions will be opened as I would if were spread betting for real. Any equity listed on the FTSE 100 is a potential candidate for trading. How will I measure success? I have a couple of proposals here. I would like to provide some form of yield calculation for direct comparison to other systems on here. However, I'm unsure which way to go... I could use Muppet77's yield calculation from his Total Corner Spreads thread (i.e. profit / (money won + abs(money lost)) (credit Muppet77)). Or, since I will be placing a stop-loss on every position I open, I will effectively have a set amount of risk on any one trade. I could, potentially, measure yield as Total profit/total maximum risk - I think this calculation is more in line with the yield calculation for fixed odds systems on here. Does anyone have any opinions on which way would be best? Money-management First off, I would like to point out that I have absolutely no investment