Where is the advantage?

I'm quite new to the forum and to be honest betting in general but I definitely know the basics. My background is programming so I found it quite interesting that I can go to sites like www.football-data.co.uk and get the previous 10 or so years worth of results (and odds). I can then throw together simple scripts that can then parse those files and test different systems. My first system was quite simple. Ignoring the first 6 games - Compare the goal difference for each team for the last 6 games (home and away) - If the difference between the GDs for each team is greater than 3 goals - bet home or away based on who has the better GD - else, less than 3 goals between each team's GD, can't quite call it so say bet on the match being a draw*. So there would be 320 units bet, but testing with the English premier league past few years, the system always shows a negative, it's close, but nonetheless negative. *an interesting feature of bookmakers is that they never favour a draw I've tried other simpler systems, like betting on strong teams (Chelsea, Man Utd) to win, but again always showing a slight negative return. So my question is this... is there a system that works for all data currently available on football-data.co.uk? I totally understand that just because a system works for all currently available data, doesn't mean to say it will work for future data... but I think a system that works with all current data, would have a good chance at working against future data. There must be some pattern to football - teams like Man Utd, Chelsea, Rangers, Celtic usually winning games as for the past 20 odd years, if not more they've been in the top 5 of their respective leagues. I think I can add value by writing programs that can automate bets, compare odds from different bookmaker sites live etc. but if it is simply mathematically impossible to consistently beat the bookmaker (even ever so slightly by the end of the season, +1 unit would be accepta