Yield

umbongo

Hi guys, this is my 1st thread, although i've been lurking around for a while, picking up tips here and there. I wouldn't say I was an expert gambler, nor a novice. I'm probably what alot of people would call a 'mug punter'. So i'm just looking for you guys thoughts and opinions on yield. I've only just recently started keeping a record of my betting and i'm being disciplined and seem to be doing ok. 90% of my bets are on the over/under 1.5 goals market,and i've got 3 different banks running at the moment. Anyway, how important is yield? In my eyes I would have thought the most important figure was Profit (or loss!). And also, what number of bets would you look to have placed before you take the yield figure seriously, if that makes sense! 10,50,100 or even more than that? And just to be sure is yield, profit/loss divided by total stake? :\ Look forward to your comments, Cheers

Re: Yield :welcome Hi umbongo, my opinion is that different people have different objectives when it comes to betting. Some people prefer to have a few solid bets per round rather than a handful of matches, while some prefer yield over profit. I don't consider myself an expert in this field, but I would prefer to strike a balance over the number of selections and yield. A high yield with a few fixtures is vulnerable to high variance. Since a portion of the data comes from back-testing, it's most probably based on 'long run' results, so having a decent amount of selections not only reduces the risk, but also makes the result more like the 'long run' probability that my back-testing has produced. Of course, have more selections would have the tendency to reduce the yield - high risk, high gain, and vice versa. It all depends on each individual's style. :tongue2