Paddock watching

Went to Kempton on Saturday afternoon, and found myself drawn to the paddock for the last 5 races. I spent a good 15 minutes watching the runners and it was undeniably informative. I am no expert, but I have a rough idea of what a fit horse should look like. I wondered if it was worth starting a thread, that anyone who goes racing live could potentially contribute to on their return, re the state of fitness of horses that they have seen. Of the 5 races that I looked at below are some of my notes. 3.25 Listed contest over 10 furlongs was the first trip down, and discovered Willie Haggas was there to watch South Easter. Maybe he's just lazy and didnt fancy Donny, but it seemed to suggest his horse was set to run well. Either way the horse looked well but certainly there's something to work on. The pick of the paddock coat wise was undoubtedly Safari Sunup who then ran a blinder for 2nd. I'd definitely consider him if he's out quickly, as he is in great nick. In the 4.00 maiden stakes, nothing was absolutely gleaming. Takeaway was the biggest and most well developed, strongly muscled around his rear. But he hadn't come truly into his coat and I'd say there was improvement to come. Obviously after the manner of his victory it is apparent he's a useful animal. Both the Mick Channon horses looked strong types, and were definitely fit. Beach Patrol ran a solid race from the front to finish 2nd, whilst Master Macho will surely benefit from the run. But neither looked remotely like they were at peak fitness and improvement will follow. I'd back both of them on their return to action, if suitably pitched in! They were split by the Michael Scudamore Iztaccihuatl who ran a very promising race in 3rd. He looked great in his coat, perhaps the best of them. Worth keeping an eye on. Of the others Jibouti is a nice looking individual but is rangy. He'll definitely do better in time, he had nowhere near the muscle definition of Takeaway. Unknown Rebel looked ok in h