** March Poker League Result : =1st Bridscott, =1st Like2Fish, 3rd avongirl **
** Cheltenham Tipster Competition Result : 1st Old codger, 2nd sirspread, 3rd Bathtime For Rupert **

Handicap Races - What Is The Most Important Stat To Consider In Horse Selection

I agree with a recent run. There's not really one piece of information to give you an edge because each horse is different. One horses temprement might make up 70% of its chance where as another might be easy going and give it's running cpnsistantly. Fitness is the only thing I can think is vital really. But on the other side of the argument some horses don't perform well when turned out quickly for a second run in say a week or five days

On 10/14/2020 at 4:25 PM, Dukelord said:

Can someone please advise? I am fairly new to horse racing and I am trying to come up with a reliable system. What is the key stat to consider when selecting for various race lengths - 5f, 6f, 7f, 1m, 1m2f, 1m4f, 1m6f and 2m.

Thanks in advance.

I think for any race distance the two key things to base your selection on are Class and Conditions

Pick horses that have already proven they can win this class of race or are lightly raced improving types still climbing the ladder and not yet reached their peak which promise to take this class of race in their stride

Pick horses that have run well at today's trip, on today's going and on today's track or similar tracks ....... this does tend to mean looking at races for older horses who have a chunk of back form to look at

If you're new to the sport I think it's more difficult looking at 2 year old races or 3 year old maidens where the horses haven't run much if at all and there's no form to go on ......... in those races you're looking at breeding, trainer's methods of preparing horses, type of horse owned by different connections and trainers ...... this depends on building up knowledge over time and experience