** March Poker League Result : =1st Bridscott, =1st Like2Fish, 3rd avongirl **
** Cheltenham Tipster Competition Result : 1st Old codger, 2nd sirspread, 3rd Bathtime For Rupert **

3rd Place Play-Off Predictions > Jul 14th

3rdplaceplayoff.jpg

The 3rd Place Play-Off has been decided and it will be Belgium versus England in a 3pm BST kick-off from the Krestovsky Stadium in St Petersburg. Their group stage meeting was a match between the two sets of fringe players. Hopefully, we see both teams play their full strength sides and go for it. Let us know your predictions for this final game at this competition for both of these nations.

belgium wins, their course was more impressive than the English. Technically they are superior and their workforce is more complete. they will also be less tired.

Sorry for my bad english, I am French and I am not very good at English.

Obviously an odd match and one that neither team particularly wants to play. I've just had a look back over the last 10 World Cup 3rd place play off games.

All 10 saw >2.5 goals, 6 went >3.5 and 3 went >4.5 (all 3 finishing with a 3-2 scoreline). Average total goals were 3.9 and the average goal rush make up on the spreads was 49.2.

Only one game was drawn, France beating Belgium 4-2 after extra time in 1986 after a 2-2 scoreline in 90 minutes.

BTTS landed in 8 of the 10 games, the exceptions being Holland beating a dispirited Brazil 3-0 in 2014 and Sweden beating Bulgaria 4-0 in 1994.

Of the 7 teams who had an extra day's rest following their semi final defeat, 3 won and 4 lost. Of the 3 that won, 2 also had the advantage of being hosts (Germany 2006 and Italy 1990). 2 hosts also lost with the benefit of an extra day's rest (Brazil 2014 and South Korea 2002). Obviously home advantage is irrelevant this year but, all in all, there's certainly no suggestion of an extra day's rest being of much benefit.