** March Poker League Result : =1st Bridscott, =1st Like2Fish, 3rd avongirl **
** Cheltenham Tipster Competition Result : 1st Old codger, 2nd sirspread, 3rd Bathtime For Rupert **

Referee Wrong or Right?

btugero

For me, it's soft. I can see why the ref gave it. As a defender, I know that if I look to barge a player in the area when a ball is coming in like that then I'm playing a dangerous game. If I was a ref I'd be reluctant to give it because it looks like the player makes a meal of it. If I was the defender though, I wouldn't be surprised if it was given. Definitely intent to barge the player there. Most players would stand their ground but this player takes advantage and makes the most of it.

• StevieDay1983 changed the title to Referee Wrong or Right?
11 hours ago, only1woz said:

As an amateur referee I'd say no penalty. The ball is actually too high for the attacker to reach it, it's goig over his head whether he gets that slight nudge from behind or not.

I can see why he's given it, but it's not a pen for me.

Here's one for you mate. Kalas for Fulham on the weekend. Do you think a red was harsh? I'm still a bit mystified how he's sent the lad off.

Sorry mate I've been dead busy this week and actually forgot about this lol.

He's been sent off for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity. His man is clean through on goal if he doesn't pull him down. There is a defender in the centre but I don't think he's going to get across so it's a definite red.

Now, obviously a yellow can be shown in these situations now, but thats only if the defender has made a genuine attempt for the ball, which is clearly not the case here as he's hauled him down and the ball is well away. Hope that clears it up for you

12 hours ago, only1woz said:

Yeah should have been red, but from the refs position he can't see thru the guy on the grounds body so he can't see the studs going in. Understand why he gave the yellow.